Skip to Main Content

Science: Chemistry

Science Databases

Science Reference Centre - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a wide range of Scientific Journals and Science books.
User name: mfac
Password: Buderim20!
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context Science provides information on today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Password: library

Current Affairs Information and Links

Gale One File News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Password:library
The Conversation This link opens in a new window
Australian based organisation, authors must be a member of an academic or research institution.

Introduction to Chemistry

Year 11 Research topics

The collection of databases and these sites are good starting points when researching either of these claims:

Green chemistry is clean chemistry
Biofuels are more efficient and have less environmental impact than fossil fuels.

What is Green Chemistry?
American Chemical Society site
Green Chemistry
United States Environmental Protection Agency
The importance of Green chemistry
Article supplied by Anotec Environmental, an Australian company specialising in odour control products.
What are biofuels?
Bioenergy Australia
Explainer: what are biofuels?
The Conversation Article
Biofuels versus Gasoline: The Emissions Gap Is Widening
Environment and Energy studies institute
Organic Chemists Contribute to Renewable Energy
Royal Society of Chemistry
N2O release from agro-biofuel production negates global warming reduction by replacing fossil fuels
Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics article
Annual ‘Biofuels in Canada’ 2019 report shows record reductions and effectiveness of Canada’s renewable fuel regulations
Author: Ian Thomson
Advanced Biofuels Canada
Report released April 2019

Online Science Magazines

New Scientist Magazine
Username: library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Library1
Cosmos Magazine Online
Electronic access:
Username:library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Flinders

State Library of QLD

State Library of QLD One Search
The state Library provides access to a wide range of resources many available online. You will need to join the State Library first, which is a quick online process. Their ONE SEARCH provides link to all their resources including their databases.
State Library membership link

Chem Academy video on the Periodic Table of elements - Trends