LibGuides: Science: Year 11 Chemistry

Science Research Databases

Gale Power Search
Searches all Gale Databases in our subscription package.
Password: library
Gale Academic One File Select
Gale Academic One file select provides to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines, in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Password: library
Gale in Context Science
Gale in Context Science provides information on today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Password: library
Gale in Context High School
Gale in Context High School provides access to full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images and videos on a wide array of subjects.
Password: library
Gale in Context: Middle School
Gale in context middle school contains videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
Password: library
Gale One File News
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Password:library
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of academic journals.
Use the following details if accessing from home:
Username: mfac
Password: journals2019
The Conversation
Australian based organisation, authors must be a member of an academic or research institution.

Online Science Magazines

New Scientist Magazine
Username: library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Library1
Cosmos Magazine Online
Electronic access:
Username:library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Flinders

Sites to support the claim: Nanomaterials will solve the problems of society in the future.

What is a nanomaterial? Definitions, examples and uses
The TWI site - a research and technology organisation.
Nanomaterials - An access journal
This journal provides a collection of international peer-reviewed articles on nanomaterials.
Nanomaterials - US National Library of Medicine National Institutes of Health
List of results using search term 'Nanomaterials" on the US National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health site. Academic articles.
Five ways nanotechnology is securing our future
The Conversation article.
Current applications and future prospects of nanomaterials in tumor therapy
Academic article
Two-dimensional nanomaterials beyond graphene for antibacterial applications: current progress and future perspectives
Academic article including diagrams
The great nanotech gamble
New Scientist July 2007 article
Bacteria-killing nanofibres could make clothes that stop disease
New Scientist March 2018 article - if you need to log in use the username and password provided on this page.
How to build a better battery through nanotechnology
Yi Cui is pioneering efforts to revoutionize battery design, and just perhaps save the world. News article published in Science, 26 May 2016 by Robert F. Service.
Improving the cyclability performance of lithium-ion batteries by introducing lithium difluorophosphate (LiPO2F2) additive
Royal Society of Chemistry
Nanomaterials for Energy Storage in Lithium-ion Battery Applications
Technical article from Merck company website.
Image - Schematic of an insertion electrode-based rechargeable lithium ion battery.
Image taken from article Nanomaterials for
Lithium Ion Batteries, published by Nanotoday 2006.

Materials for next-generation lithium batteries Review Articles
Current Science - A Fortnightly Journal of Research. https://www.currentscience.ac.in/search.php

Nanomaterials
National Health of Environmental Health Sciences
Table 1 Comparision of specific capacities based on expected and actual weight percentage of nanosilicon and nanographite.
From: Silicon-Nanographite Aerogel-Based Anodes for High Performance Lithium Ion Batteries
Samsung Develops Battery Material with 5x Faster Charging Speed
Samsung Newsroom November 2017
Graphene balls for lithium rechargeable batteries with fast charging and high volumetric energy densities
Article published by Nature Communications, 2017.
A Better Battery
Sami Hakani March 29, 2015
Nanoparticles in Cancer Treatment: Opportunities and Obstacles
Abstract from academic article. From Bentham Science, 2018.
Nanoparticle Applications In Materials
Encyclopedia Britannica 2020
National Cancer Institute. Nanodelivery Systems and Devices
Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis at the National Cancer Institute USA.
Final results of a phase III randomized trial of CPX-351 versus 7+3 in older patients with newly diagnosed high risk (secondary) AML.
Journal of Clinical Oncology, abstract only.
Glasdegib in combination with cytarabine and daunorubicin in patients with AML or high-risk MDS: Phase 2 study results
Clinical Trial published by American Journal of Hematology in 2018.
Interactions of liposomes and lipid-based carrier systems with blood proteins: Relation to clearance behaviour in vivo
Article preview published by Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, 1998.
Midostaurin plus Chemotherapy for Acute Myeloid Leukemia with a FLT3 Mutation
Clinical trial. Published in New England Journal of Medicine, 2017.
Plasma clearance, biodistribution and therapeutic properties of mitoxantrone encapsulated in conventional and sterically stabilized liposomes after intravenous administration in BDF1 mice
Academic article published in British Journal of Cancer, 1997.
Formulation and Characterization of Carvedilol Leciplex for Glaucoma Treatment: In-Vitro, Ex-Vivo and In-Vivo Study
Academic article published by Pharmaceutics, 2018.
Promising Approach in the Treatment of Glaucoma Using Nanotechnology and Nanomedicine-Based Systems
Academic article published by Molecules, 2019.
Potential Therapeutic Usage of Nanomedicine for Glaucoma Treatment
Academic article published by International Journal of Nanomedicine 2020.
Nanomedicine for glaucoma: liposomes provide sustained release of latanoprost in the eye
Report findings from a study conducted on glaucoma. Published in International Journal of Nanomedicine, 2012.
Sustained drug release in nanomedicine: a long-acting nanocarrier-based formulation for glaucoma
Article preview published by ACS Nano (American Chemical Society), 2014.
How can nanoparticles be used to overcome the challenges of glaucoma treatment?
Article preview published by Nanomedicine 2014.
Nanomedicine for glaucoma: sustained release latanoprost offers a new therapeutic option with substantial benefits over eyedrops
Article preview published by Drug Delivery and Translational Research in 2014.

Sites to support the claim: Modern materials are better.

Specific Strength
Accessed from ChemEurope company website. Includes a table of data on specific tensile strength of various materials.
Carbon - Graphite Materials
Accessed from Azo Materials website 2011. Table of data on Carbon - Graphite Materials.
Smart, modern and composite materials
General overview of the topic provided by BBC Bitesize
Modern Materials
Chapter 12.9 Modern Materials, taken from book - Howard University General Chemistry: An Atoms First Approach, found on Libre Texts website.
Impossible alloys: How to make never before seen metals
New Scientist October 2016 article you may need to log in, use the details provided on this page.
Wood - Densities of Various Species
Engineering Toolbox 2004. Table of data showing the density of various wood species.
Materials and Tennis: Rackets
Kotze, J & Lammer, H 2003, Materials and tennis rackets

Tensile Strength of Pine and Ash Woods – Experimental and Numerical Study
School of Technology and Management, Polytechnic Institute of Bragança, Portugal 2015.

Advances in science and technology of modern energetic materials: An overview
Journal of Hazardous Materials Volume 151, Issues 2–3, 1 March 2008, Pages 289-305
A Complete Assessment of the Emissions Performance of Ethanol Blends and Iso-Butanol Blends from a Fleet of Nine PFI and GDI Vehicles
Abstract and preview of article published by SAE International 2015.
The Effect of Various Petrol-Ethanol Blends on Exhaust Emissions and Fuel Consumption of an Unmodified Light-Duty SI Vehicle
Abstract and preview of technical paper published by SAE International 2011.
Effects of Ethanol Blend Fuels E10 and E85 on the Non-Legislated Emissions of a Flex Fuel Passenger Car
Abstract and preview of technical paper published by SAE International 2016.
The Fracture and Toughness of Woods
Abrstract and preview of article written by M. F. Ashby, K. E. Easterling, R. Harrysson, S. K. Maiti. Published in Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Series A, Mathematical and Physical Sciences. Vol. 398, No. 1815 (Apr. 9, 1985), pp. 261-280 (24 pages).
Fracture toughness measurement toughness measurement for aluminium 6061-T6 using notched round bars
Article published by Faculty of Engineering and Information Sciences, University of Wollongong 2017.
Life cycle assessment of carbon fiber-reinforced polymer composites
Abstract and preview of article published by The International Journal of Life Cycle Assessment 2011.
Natural Rubber: Structure and Function
Beyond the Cis-1,4 structure – Some Reasons Why Synthetic Rubber May Never Replace Natural Rubber. Information page released on HalcyonAgri website 2018.
Strengthened PAN-based carbon fibers obtained by slow heating rate carbonization
Scientific Report Article published by Nature 2016.
Surface modification of synthetic fibers to improve performance: Recent approaches
Academic article published by Global Journal of Physical Chemistry 2011.
The top ten advances in materials science
Article by Jonathan Wood (Editor, Materials Today). Published in Materials Today 2008.
USA: DuPont Introduces Kevlar Advanced Performance Fibers for Industrial and Automotive Applications
Just-Auto.com article via Gale Database, 2009.
What makes Kevlar¿ so strong? And how can it be so light at the same time?
Scientific American 2005. Brief article from Ask the Experts section of the publication.