LibGuides: Science: Unit 2 Marine Science

Science Research Databases

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Searches all Gale Databases in our subscription package.
Password: library
Gale Academic One File Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic One file select provides to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines, in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Password: library
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context Science provides information on today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Password: library
Gale in Context High School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context High School provides access to full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images and videos on a wide array of subjects.
Password: library
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale in context middle school contains videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
Password: library
Gale One File News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Password:library
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of academic journals.
Use the following details if accessing from home:
Username: mfac
Password: journals2019
The Conversation This link opens in a new window
Australian based organisation, authors must be a member of an academic or research institution.

Science Magazines

Cosmos Magazine Online
Electronic access:
Username:library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Flinders
New Scientist Magazine
Username: library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Library1

Natural Disasters and Ecosystems

These links below will help you respond to the claim:

Natural disasters such as cyclones and floods reduce biodiversity in coral reef ecosystems

Great Barrier Reef coral at risk of bleaching from Queensland flood waters
The Guardian, February 2019.
Impacts and Recovery from Severe Tropical Cyclone Yasi on the Great Barrier Reef
Peer reviewed research article, April 2015
impacts of Tropical Cyclone Yasi on the Great Barrier Reef
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority report 2011
Queensland floods hit Great Barrier Reef
Nature website, 2011 article.
Australian floods send dirty water across Great Barrier Reef
Eco Watch article, Feb 2019
Impacts of a severe tropical cyclone on inshore and offshore coral reefs
eAtlas article sponsored by Australian Institute of Marine Science
No silver bullet for the Great Barrier Reef
ARC Centre for excellence; Coral Reef Studies
Great Barrier Reef photos show 'striking' damage to coral after Cyclone Debbie
ABC News July 2017

Relationship between tropical cyclones and the distribution of sea turtle nesting grounds
Article found in JSTOR

Scientific monitoring and ecosystems

The links below and the databases will help research the claim:

Scientific monitoring of ecosystems informs on ecosystem resilience and population recovery

Spectacular Recovery From Coral Bleaching At Great Barrier Reef Marine Park In Australia
Science Daily article, April 2009
Coral community response to bleaching on a highly disturbed reef
US National Library of Medicine, article published Feb 2016
Resilience of the Great Barrier Reef and drivers of change
QLD Government Reef Water Quality Protection Plan 2013
Resilience
Reef Resilience Network. The Network is a partnership led by The Nature Conservancy

Plastics in the ocean

The links below will help you respond to these claims:

Plastic waste is causing irreparable damage to life in the ocean

Accumulation and fragmentation of plastic debris in global environments
US National Library of Medicine, July 2009 academic article
How Is Plastic Totally Ruining The Oceans In The Worst Way Possible?
Marine Insight website
Marine litter and microplastics
Green Facts
Microplastic pollution in oceans is far worse than feared, say scientists
The Guardian article
Plastic and how it affects our oceans
ABC Science article Feb 2017
We depend on plastic, now we're drowning in it
National Geographic - June 2018
The Great Pacific Garbage Patch
Research by The Ocean Cleanup - 2020

Guide to researching and responding to a Science claim

Science Research Claim guide
This guide will support you through the process of responding to a claim.

Science: Unit 2 Marine Science

Unit 1&2 Marine Science