LibGuides: Science: Unit 4 Biology

Science Research Databases

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Searches all Gale Databases in our subscription package.
Password: library
Gale Academic One File Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic One file select provides to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines, in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Password: library
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context Science provides information on today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Password: library
Gale in Context High School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context High School provides access to full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images and videos on a wide array of subjects.
Password: library
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale in context middle school contains videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
Password: library
Gale One File News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Password:library
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of academic journals.
Use the following details if accessing from home:
Username: mfac
Password: journals2019
The Conversation This link opens in a new window
Australian based organisation, authors must be a member of an academic or research institution.

Genetic Research links - General Information

Use the links below, and the databases, to research information on your selected claim:

"Genetic enhancement will ultimately lead to a split in the human species."

"Genetic engineering, including, transgenic organisms, if used wisely, can be beneficial; but can be abused too."

"Parents should be able to choose the genetic characteristics of their children to maximise their life options and minimise the risk of inherited disease."

"Organisms are dealt a certain deck of genetic cards, but the environment can influence the organisms' outcomes."

Genetically Modified Crops - Statistics & Facts
Published by Statista Research Department, Sep 19, 2017
STAT-Harvard poll: Americans say no to ‘designer babies’
Article includes results of phone poll of US citizens regarding designer babies.
Homo Sapiens 2.0? We need a species-wide conversation about the future of human genetic enhancement
Tech Crunch 2016 article by Jamie Metzi a futurist and the author of Hacking Darwin: Genetic Enhancement and the Future of Humanity.
Postnatal Human Genetic Enhancement – A Consideration of Children’s Right to Be Genetically Enhanced
Research article by Sivan Tamir from Genetic Policy and Bioethics Unit, Israel
The inevitability of genetic enhancement technologies
2004 article by Francoise Baylis and Jason Scott Robert
Human enhancement: Genetic engineering and evolution
Academic article: Mara Almeida, Rui Diogo published in the Evolution, Medicine, and Public Health, Volume 2019, Issue 1, 2019
Uses and abuses of genetic engineering
Academic article: Editorial by DR Alexander in the Postgraduate Medical Journal 2003
Genes, the environment, and the organism
Part of the book: An Introduction to Genetic Analysis. 7th edition. Electronic access to the book is available via search feature. Authors: Griffiths AJF, Miller JH, Suzuki DT; 2000. Chapter includes a number of supporting diagrams.
Gene editing like Crispr is too important to be left to scientists alone
The Guardian article, written by Natalie Kofler a trained molecular biologist and lecturer in bioethics at Yale University and Harvard Medical School. Provides links to other relevant articles.
CRISPR fixes disease gene in viable human embryos
Heidi Ledford, August 2017
Development of a CRISPR/Cas9-based therapy for Hutchinson-Gilford progeria syndrome
2018 Academic research paper which explore the efficacy of a CRISPR/Cas9-based approach that reverts several alterations in HGPS cells and mice by introducing frameshift mutations in the LMNA gene.
The Gene Drive Dilemma: We Can Alter Entire Species, but Should We?
NY Times Magazine article - only one free access permitted, so save as PDF if it looks worthwhile for your research.
Environment Controls Gene Expression: Sex Determination and the Onset of Genetic Disorders
By: Amy Ralston, Ph.D. (Write Science Right) & Kenna Shaw, Ph.D. (Nature Education) © 2008 Nature Education
After the Storm — A Responsible Path for Genome Editing
2019 article from the New England Journal of Medicine
Genetic Inequality: Human Genetic Engineering
Danielle Simmons, Ph.D. (Write Science Right) © 2008 Nature Education. As genetics allows us to turn the tide on human disease, it's also granting the power to engineer desirable traits into humans. What limits should we create as this technology develops?
How do environmental factors influence life cycles and development? An experimental framework for early-diverging metazoans
Academic report, Published in 2004 available through the US National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health website.
Genetics of aging, health, and survival: dynamic regulation of human longevity related traits
Detailed academic report, including data collected in this research. Paper published 2015.

Genetics Research Links - Data and Academic Reports

Genetics of aging, health, and survival: dynamic regulation of human longevity related traits
Detailed academic report, including data collected in this research. Paper published 2015.
How do environmental factors influence life cycles and development? An experimental framework for early-diverging metazoans
Academic report, Published in 2004 available through the US National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health website.
Genetically Modified Crops - Statistics & Facts
Published by Statista Research Department, Sep 19, 2017
STAT-Harvard poll: Americans say no to ‘designer babies’
Article includes results of phone poll of US citizens regarding designer babies.
Evaluating cell lines as models for metastatic breast cancer through integrative analysis of genomic data
May 2019 article includes data used in this study
Genetic Engineering and Biotech news - Big Data
This site links to articles on a range of topics, the articles are often from research done using data - you may have to search for the original research to get the data.
US Public opinion on the future use of gene editing
Data from Pew Research Center July 2016

Peer-reviewed surveys indicate positive impact of commercialized GM crops
Article from Nature Biotechnology April 2010 including data