LibGuides: Science: Yr 10 Marine Science

Science Research Databases

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Searches all Gale Databases in our subscription package.
Password: library
Gale Academic One File Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic One file select provides to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines, in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Password: library
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context Science provides information on today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Password: library
Gale in Context High School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context High School provides access to full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images and videos on a wide array of subjects.
Password: library
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale in context middle school contains videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
Password: library
Gale One File News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Password:library
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of academic journals.
Use the following details if accessing from home:
Username: mfac
Password: journals2019
The Conversation This link opens in a new window
Australian based organisation, authors must be a member of an academic or research institution.

Online Science Magazines

New Scientist Magazine
Username: library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Library1
Cosmos Magazine Online
Electronic access:
Username:library@mfac.edu.au
Password: Flinders

Tuna & other pelagic fish and our health Research

Use the links below and the databases to investigate this claim.

We should stop eating Tuna and other pelagic fish because they are harmful to our health.

Keywords that will help you find relevant information include: bioaccumulation, biomagnification

Bioaccumulation & Biomagnification Of Toxic Chemicals: What You Need To Know
Hyrdroviv site, supplier of water filters
Toxic Substances
NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) Ocean Services Education
Can eating fish be dangerous?
National centre for health research
Some Tuna Can Carry Up To 36 Times The Toxic Chemicals Of Others. Here's Why
NPR website, NPR is a non-profit American multimedia organisation.
Tuna Lover's Dilemma: To Eat or Not to Eat?
National Geographic article
Toxic pollutants found in fish across the world's oceans
Science Daily article.
Oceanographers Examine Mercury Levels Of Pelagic Fish In Hawaii
Science Daily article
Some Tuna Are More Toxic Than Others!
Envirobites article
Determination of toxic elements (mercury, cadmium, lead, tin and arsenic) in fish and shellfish samples. Risk assessment for the consumers
Science Direct academic article.
Tuna for lunch? A Case Study Examining Mercury Bioaccumulation and Biomagnification
Department of Biological and Environmental SciencesGeorgia College and State University, Milledgeville, GA. Written as a case study, includes data about elements of mercury in different types of fish.
Technical Information on Development of FDA/EPA Advice on What Pregnant Women and Parents Should Know about Eating Fish
US Food and Drug Administration, includes data on mercury concentration on various fish species.
Mercury Exposure from Domestic and Imported Estuarine and Marine Fish in the U.S. Seafood Market
Environmental Health Perspective article - academic article
Killer whales: why more than half world’s orcas are threatened by leftover industrial chemicals
The conversation article
Modeling 137Cs bioaccumulation in the salmon-resident killer whale food web of the Northeastern Pacific following the Fukushima Nuclear Accident
Research Gate Academic Article
Toxic killer whales
NOAA fisheries
Exposure to a Mixture of Toxic Chemicals: Implications for the Health of Endangered Southern Resident Killer Whales
Academic article from US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Bioaccumulation and enantiomeric profiling of organochlorine pesticides and persistent organic pollutants in the killer whale (Orcinus orca) from British and Irish waters
Research Gate academic article

Super Predator Research

Use the links below and the databases to help investigate the claim:

Humans are global super predators, so it doesn’t matter if we cull sharks and other apex predators!

Importance of sharks
White Shark project South Africa
Marine top predators as climate and ecosystem sentinels
2019 Article Frontiers in ecology and the environment
Human activities change marine ecosystems by altering predation risk
Global change biology 2015, Research
Marine mammal culling programs: Review of effects on predator and prey populations
Academic article. Research Gate January 2012
Predators as prey - why healthy oceans need sharks
Oceania 2008 PDF
Resurgence of an apex marine predator and the decline in prey body size
National Academy of Science US - academic article 2019. Includes graphs and data about predator sizes
Evaluating the efficacy of predator removal in a conflict-prone world
Academic article 2018 from Biological Conservation magazine.
Contrasts in density, size, and biomass of reef fishes between the northwestern and the main Hawaiian islands: the effects of fishing down apex predators
Academic article 2002, detailing impact of number of apex predators and fish numbers in Hawaii.

The unique ecology of human predators
2015 Article from Science magazine retrieved from JSTOR

Science: Yr 10 Marine Science

Year 10 Marine Science

Science Research Databases

Online Science Magazines

Tuna & other pelagic fish and our health Research

Super Predator Research