LibGuides: Science: Unit 4 Physics

Research claim : The theory of special relativity is supported by empirical evidence.

DOE Explains...Muons Office of Science
DOE Explains.Muons (n.d.), United States Department of Energy, accessed 17 June 2023. https://www.energy.gov/science/doe-explainsmuons Einstein A (1905)
On The Electrodynamics Of Moving Bodies
University of Oxford (n.d.) ON THE ELECTRODYNAMICS OF MOVING BODIES, Department of Physics, accessed 22 April 2024. https://users.physics.ox.ac.uk/~rtaylor/teaching/specrel.pdf
Ether: Theoretical Substance
Ether (n.d.), Britannica, accessed 15 June 2023. https://www.britannica.com/science/ether-theoretical-substance
Measurement of the Relativistic Time Dilation Using mu-Mesons
Frisch D and Smith J (1963) Measurement of the Relativistic Time Dilation Using mu-Mesons [PDF], Massachusetts Institute of Technology, accessed 13 June 2023.
https://d1b10bmlvqabco.cloudfront.net/attach/j6wg9vo05d118z/hjzs14rvhz419k/j7jdyxbbpuw
Time dilation, an experiment with mu mesons Youtube
Frisch D and Smith J (1962) Time dilation, an experiment with mu mesons, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, National Science Foundation, accessed 18 June 2023. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wH2UbjGKlw Fufaev A (n.d.)
On the Relative Motion of the Earth and the Luminiferous Ether
On the Relative Motion of the Earth and the Luminiferous Ether [PDF], Bache Fund, accessed 13 June 2023.
https://history.aip.org/exhibits/gap/PDF/michelson.pdf
Mount Washington Peak Visor Map
Mount Washington (n.d.), Peak Visor, accessed 17 June 2023. https://peakvisor.com/peak/mount-washington.html
Muon Experiment
Nave R (n.d.) Muon Experiment, accessed 19 July 2023. http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.ed
Einstein's Theory of Special Relativity,
Stein V (1 February 2022) Einstein's Theory of Special Relativity, Space.com, accessed 19 July 2023. https://www.space.com

Research claim: The two models of light contradict each other.

Some terms relevant to this claim:

wave particle duality
particle nature of light
photons
Young's double slit experiment
Photoelectric Effect
Albert Einstein
Max Planck

Young’s Double-Slit Interference
British Columbia (BC) Open textbook, University physics volume 3, chapter 19
Explainer: what is wave-particle duality
The Conversation article, July 2012 by Tim Davis
Principle Research Scientist Materials Science and Engineering, CSIRO
Can We Test Gravitational Waves For Wave-Particle Duality?
Forbes 2019 article by Ethan Siegel Ph.D. astrophysicist, author, and science communicator,
Photoelectric Effect: Explanation & Applications
Live Science site, 2017 article
Quantum nature of light
Open stax Physcis textbook, link to the chapter called Quantum nature of light
What is light?
Cosmos magazine article June 2016
The electromagnectic Spectrum
NASA Science The Electromagnetic Spectrum Video Series & Companion Book
James Clerk Maxwell and the Equations of Light
Interdisciplinary Encyclopedia of Religion and Science
The Strange Theory of Light and Matter
The Feynman essays, April 2020
The wave-particle duality of photons
Photon terrace website. Is light a wave?
Young’s interference experiment

Research claim: The standard model works just fine the way it is.

Some terms related to this claim:

CERN
Higgs Boson
Standard Model
Particle Physics
String Theory
antimatter
quantum electrodynamics
Richard Feynman

Richard Feynman lecture on Quantum Electrodynamics
Youtube. Richard Feynman gives us a lecture on Quantum electrodynamcis, the theory of photons and electron interactions which incorporates his unique view of the fundamental processes that create it.
What exactly is the Higgs boson? Have physicists proved that it really exists?
Scientific America October 1999 article
Physicists have a massive problem as Higgs boson refuses to misbehave
New Scientist 2020 article
Wave-Particle Duality
British Columbia (BC) Open textbook, year 12 Physics Volume 3
The Standard model
CERN Accelerating Science.The Standard Model explains how the basic building blocks of matter interact, governed by four fundamental forces.
A New Map of All the Particles and Forces
QUANTA Magazine October 2020 article. We’ve created a new way to explore the fundamental constituents of the universe.
12 particle of matter
Astronoo site
Elementary particles
BBC site, provides access to a number of short videos on the topic of elementary particles
The Past 25 Years: Establishing the Standard Model
Chapter 4 of the book Elementary-Particle Physics: Revealing the Secrets of Energy and Matter

Science Research Databases

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Searches all Gale Databases in our subscription package.
Password: library
Gale Academic One File Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic One file select provides to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines, in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Password: library
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context Science provides information on today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Password: library
Gale in Context High School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context High School provides access to full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images and videos on a wide array of subjects.
Password: library
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale in context middle school contains videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
Password: library
Gale One File News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Password:library
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of academic journals.
Use the following details if accessing from home:
Username: mfac
Password: journals2019
The Conversation This link opens in a new window
Australian based organisation, authors must be a member of an academic or research institution.