LibGuides: Science: Unit 4 Chemistry

Science Research Databases

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Searches all Gale Databases in our subscription package.
Password: library
Gale Academic One File Select This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic One file select provides to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines, in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Password: library
Gale in Context Science This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context Science provides information on today's most significant science topics, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Password: library
Gale in Context High School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context High School provides access to full-text magazines, academic journals, primary source documents, images and videos on a wide array of subjects.
Password: library
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale in context middle school contains videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more.
Password: library
Gale One File News This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Password:library
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to a wide range of academic journals.
Use the following details if accessing from home:
Username: mfac
Password: journals2019
The Conversation This link opens in a new window
Australian based organisation, authors must be a member of an academic or research institution.

Plastics Research links

Claim: Bioplastics are better than petroleum based plastics.

The New Plastics Economy Rethinking the future of plastics
World Economic forum report 2016
We made plastic. We depend on it. Now we're drowning in it.
National Geographic article. Includes some graphs and infographics.
Ending the age of plastic
Cosmos magazine article. Sub-heading: As plastic pollution covers the globe, can science provide solutions? Michael Lucy investigates.
https://ourworldindata.org/plastic-pollution - Our world in data
Our World in Data presents the empirical evidence on global development in entries dedicated to specific topics.
Our planet is drowning in plastic pollution
UN Environment article, provides graphics and statistics on plastic use world wide
How to Eliminate Plastic Waste and Plastic Pollution with Science and Engineering
Interesting Engineering site
Bisphenol A alters the development of the rhesus monkey mammary gland
JSTOR article. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America
Bisphenol A alters early oogenesis and follicle formation in the fetal ovary of the rhesus monkey
JSTOR article. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America
Perinatal Exposure to Bisphenol-A Alters Peripubertal Mammary Gland Development in Mice
Article from Endocrinology, Volume 146, Issue 9, 1 September 2005
Perinatal exposure to low doses of bisphenol A affects body weight, patterns of estrous cyclicity, and plasma LH levels.
Academic article. US National Library of Medicine.

Plastic

Plastics

"an estimated 5,000 to 6,000 tons of plastic waste is generated each year in Armenia - and growing." by UNDP in Europe and Central Asia is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Continued - Plastic Research links

Claim: Bioplastics are better than petroleum based plastics.

Sustainable Plastics Inspired by Nature
Good starting point for this topic, American Physics Society
Eco-Profile of Compostable Plastic
World Centric site
PLA Plastic/Material: All You Need to Know
ALL3DP site, 3D printing. Provides detail about production of Polylactic Acid,
The lifecycle of plastics
WWF article
An Introduction to PET
PETRA (PET Resin association) article
Global Assessment of Bisphenol A in the Environment
US National Library of medicine article.
Chemical Degradation of End-of-Life Poly(lactic acid) into Methyl Lactate by a Zn(II) Complex
American Chemist society article
The Definitive Guide to Polypropylene (PP)
Omnexus site
Effects of biodegradable plastic film mulching on soil microbial communities in two agroecosystems
PeerJ open access article.
Biodegradable and Compostable Alternatives to Conventional Plastics
JSTOR article from Philosophical Transactions: Biological Sciences, 2009.

Functional Properties of Polypropylene and Poly (lactic acid) Reinforced with Bamboo Fabric for Packaging Applications
Academia Paper
Most polymers used in packaging are obtained from non-biodegradable petroleum resources which contribute to a huge amount of waste. Poly (lactic acid) (PLA) is a good candidate to replace polypropylene (PP) in packaging applications, due to its excellent mechanical properties and biodegradability.
Plastics go green
An article in ChemMatters April 2010

Green Chemistry research links

Claim: Green chemistry principles are improving the chemical industry.

12 Principles of Green Chemistry
American Chemical Society
Greener Products and Solutions
Merck. Sustainability & Social Responsibility.
Green Chemistry Examples
American Chemical Society

Getting fuels from algae is Green Chemistry in action

Claim: Getting fuels from algae is Green Chemistry in action

Turkey opens laboratory to grow algae for jet fuel, in EU-backed clean aviation push
Climate Home News.
Turkey opens laboratory to grow algae for jet fuel, in EU-backed clean aviation push
Published on 31/01/2022, 5:52pm
12 Principles of Green Chemistry
American Chemical Society
Greener Products and Solutions
Merck. Sustainability & Social Responsibility
Green Chemistry Examples
American Chemical Society